Lucas County



Lucas County Courthouse
916 Braden Ave
Chariton, IA 50049-1700

Lucas County Health Center
1200 N. 7th Street
Chariton, Iowa 50049
Phone: (641) 774-3000

Places of Interest

Red Haw State Park
Just east of Chariton off Highway 34

Pin Oak Marsh and Lodge
Just south of Chariton off Highway 14

John L. Lewis Labor and Mining Museum
102 Division St.
Lucas, IA 50151

Situated in the beautiful rolling hills of south central Iowa, Lucas County was named for the first governor of the Iowa Territory, Robert Lucas. The county is home to the communities of Russell, Williamson, Derby, Lucas and the county seat, Chariton. Lucas County offers many opportunities for outdoor recreation, such as Stephens State Forest, Pin Oak Marsh and Lodge and Red Haw State Park. The city of Lucas is the birthplace of legendary labor leader John L. Lewis.